Feeding the poor and clothing them

We read in James: “15 If a brother or sister is naked and destitute of daily food, 16and one of you says to them, “Depart in peace, be warmed and filled,” but you do not give them the things which are needed for the body, what does it profit?”

Which is to fulfill the law of love: “8 If you really fulfill the royal law according to the Scripture, “You shall love your neighbor as yourself,” you do well;..”

So what about spiritual food? And spiritual clothing?

In the Gospel we read that Jesus said his food was to do the will of the father.

We read in revelation that those in heaven their clothing were the acts of justice that they did.

We are told that loving your brother means to tell him of his fault. But many are too afraid. It seems to be a natural instinct of fear to not tell them. Yet not telling them leads to gossip which leads to feelings of superiority and then slander. Not wanting to tell them causes rash judgments in our hearts that closes our minds to new input making our hearts hard.

So when we see a brother no knowing the will of God or not doing it we need to tell them. But all too often we justify NOT telling them is love. That they need to figure it out on their own or that it is between them and God. But perhaps they cannot see or hear or are lame. Thus us telling them is a miracle of healing them to see, to hear and to walk. It is the greater miracle than actually giving a blind man sight but giving spiritual insight.

With kids we have no problem telling them. Why do we tell them? So that they will have good character. We would never say a kid needs to figure it out on his own! So when we do not tell our brother scripture explains that we are indeed hating our brother.

Now telling them will almost never be well received initially they go through the fazes of loss. Denial, anger, hatred, negotiation and not many then find acceptance.

I saw a sister of mine go to board a plane. She forgot to preboard on line and they gouged her with fees. She was angry and reviled them – saying terrible cuss words and cursing them with names. I gave her a look of shock. Then some time later as she complained again I told her “be angry and do not what?” she got angry and exclaimed “I do not care!!”. If it were my child I would have asked the child to say sorry to me and to ask God for forgiveness. I admit I was worried about her hating me for this truth and did not say more. I loved her with some exhortation but I did not love her as my own self in that I did not rebuke her when she was defensive.

It takes a community with gentle rebuke to bring someone to their senses. But sadly nobody else is willing to help. They would rather “PRAY” for them than love them with the truth.

Christians fail to obey and thus they do not love Christ and in their disobedience they obey the lusts of their flesh hating their brother. And scripture says that he who hates his brother does not know God.

As my friend left Greece I did mail her a letter suggesting she seek to bless and not curse. That simply asking those around her even her kids to point out to her when she does this that at first their reminder will seem to sting but she will remember she asked them to do it. And in three short weeks one will have changed dramatically.

Christians fail to mature due to an unwillingness to love one another which is the royal law.

Quoting the Old Testament it says that tell your brother so that you do not share in their sin and so that you do not hold a grudge in doing this you will have loved your brother as yourself. Christians of al kinds know nothing of this! It is veiled to them as they are in need of eye salve to cleanse their eyes. When I attempt to share it some will agree but when I then ask them to be a witness they have too many excuses.

On said it is going Rambo on them. Really? If my kid refused to apologize and so I put him in his room until he changed his mind you would not call that going Rambo. So in seeking to not obey Jesus and be a witness she reviled me.

Another man said his father just died and he is not available. Well his father had passed two months prior he has kids and I suppose if his son came to him and said my brother hit me he would not reply to his kids “grandpa just passed and I am busy dealing with that”

I could go on and on for the excuses. Funny they claim they are not willing to judge for righteousness sake and so in order to get out of it DO judge for unrighteousness sake. That is they come up with all sorts of far reaching judgments for why I asked them to do what Jesus said to do!!!

Leave a Reply

